James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year Award

Christie Award

This award honors superior contributions of an aggregates industry professional to his or her company, and the industry, toward proactive safe and healthful operating practices. 


The award is open to any member safety and health professional who:

  • is actively involved in either NSSGA’s or a state safety and health program;

  • has direct, day-to-day involvement in his or her own company’s safety and health affairs; and

  • has also made significant contributions to the industry’s safety and health responsiveness.  


For questions regarding the James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year Award, please contact Libby Pritchard at lpritchard@nssga.org.

Meghan Neal
2023 James M. Christie Safety and Health
Professional of the Year

Award Winner



Meghan Neal
P.W. Gillibrand Co., Inc. 

Past Recipients

2022 - Chris May, A CRH Company

2021 - Chad McDougal, Vulcan Materials Company

2020 - Robin Markussen, Lehigh Hanson

2017- Mark Rock, CalPortland

2014 - Louis Griesemer, Springfield Underground

2013 - Jon Reedy, Lehigh Hanson

2012 - Abel Parker, Luck Companies

2011 - Zach Knoop, Knife River

2010 - Terry Browning, Vulcan Materials Company

2009 - Cheryl Ann Suzio, York Hill Trap Rock Quarry Co. Inc.

2008 - Kevin Davis, Miles Sand & Gravel Company

2007 - Kevin Davis, Miles Sand & Gravel Company

2006 - Alan MacVicar, CEMEX

2005 - Mike Neason, Hanson Building Materials America I

2004 - Daniel McClain, Lafarge North America

2003 - Anne Kelhart, Stone Quarries, Inc.

2002 - Terry Tyson, Hanson Building Materials Am

2001 - Ed Elliott , Rogers Group, Inc.

2000 - Robert C. Dailey, H.B. Mellott Estate, Inc.

1999 - Randy Logston, Vulcan Materials Company

1998 - Dave Pfile, Hanson Building Materials Am

1997 - Terry Eichelberger, Allegheny Aggregates

1996 - Cloyd Rexrode, Jr., Pennsy Supply, Inc.

1995 - Peter F. Ward, Benchmark Materials Company

1994 - Michael A. Hunt, CSR America Aggregates

1993 - Jack C. Raimondi, Tarmac Florida, Inc.

1992 - Kelly F. Bailey, Vulcan Materials Company

1991 - Frank Cone, Mid Atlantic, Inc.

1990 - Richard L. Seago, Beazer East, Inc.

1989 - Bill Walton, Florida Rock Industries, Inc.

1988 - Greg L. Oster, J.L. Shiely Company

1987 - Jim Christie, Vulcan Materials Company