Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award

The aggregates industry's highest, most distinguished individual award.

Barry Wendt

In February of 1997, the aggregates industry lost a longtime friend with the passing of Barry K. Wendt of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Known for his outgoing, friendly disposition and spirited nature, he was a great friend and champion to the industry. He often gave of his own personal time to solve industry problems. Barry tirelessly devoted his energy to advance the industry’s causes. His friends and the industry remember him for his dedication, hard work, and personal integrity. Barry Wendt helped make the industry and the world a better place. As a lasting memorial to Barry, who exemplified commitment to family, career and the industry, NSSGA established an annual commitment award to recognize an individual in the industry who is deserving of personal recognition for exhibiting the dedication exemplified by Barry Wendt, both in commitment to the industry and to the community in which they live. This is the highest and most distinguished individual award presented by the association. The Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award is presented each year at NSSGA’s Annual Convention. For questions regarding the Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award, please contact the NSSGA Meetings team at


The 2024 Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award will be presented at NSSGA’s Annual Convention, March 23 - 26, 2024 in Nashville, TN.


Mark Helm
2024 Barry K. Wendt Memorial Commitment Award
Mark Helm
President and CEO
Dolese Bros. Co.
Past Recipients


2023: Charles S. Luck, IV, Luck Companies

2022: Ric Suzio, L. Suzio Companies 

2021: David Thomey, Martin Marietta

2020: Louis A. Griesemer, Springfield Underground

2019: William J. “Bill” Wetta, DSC Dredge

2018:  John Wall, Braen Stone

2017:  Doug Palmore, Luck Companies

2016:  Jerry Geraghty, Rogers Group, Inc.

2015: Mike Stanczak, Lehigh Hanson

2014: Donald M. James, Vulcan Materials Company

2013: Stephen P. Zelnak, Martin Marietta

2012: Tony Basolo, Dolese Bros. Co.

2011: Kelly F. Bailey, Vulcan Materials Company

2010: Richard J. Feltes, Lafarge

2009: Randy J. Kremer, Granite Construction, Inc.

2008: Ronald W. Kruse, National Lime & Stone Company

2007: Joseph Andrews, Jr., Luck Stone Corporation

2006: Paul C. Mellott, H. B. Mellott Estate Inc.

2005: Glenn L. Martin, Martin Stone Quarries, Inc.

2004: Charles S. Luck, III, Luck Stone Corporation

2003: E. Mark Deister, Deister Machine Co., Inc.

2002: James G. (Jim) Topper, Nova Materials

2001: Members of the NAA-NSA Merger Steering Committee were selected, individually and collectively, as recipients and recognized at NSSGA’s First Annual Convention in San Diego: William H. Brown, Memphis Stone & Gravel Co.; Gregory J. Bush, Linwood Mining & Minerals Corp.; Brenton P. Cook, Aggregate Industries; Michael E. Hayes, Aggregate Industries Management; Kim W. Snyder, Eastern Industries, Inc; Mark S. Towe, Oldcastle, Inc., Materials Group.

2000: Richard E. Gordon, Aggregate Industries

1999: Roy F. Rumbaugh, McLanahan Corp.

1998: Bernard L. Grove, Jr., Redland Genstar