NSSGA Announces Gold Safety Awards

ALEXANDRIA, VA., Feb. 8, 2017 — The National Stone, Sand and Gravel Association (NSSGA) announced the recipients of this year’s Safety Excellence and Sterling Safety Awards.

“The aggregates industry is committed to developing and upholding a culture of safety at quarries across the nation.  We are proud to recognize these outstanding operations for working diligently to ensure that all of their staff makes it home at the end of their shift,” said Michael W. Johnson, NSSGA president and CEO.

The stone, sand and gravel sector has seen the lowest injury rate in history, with just 2 injuries per 200,000 hours worked in 2015. The milestone also marked the 15th consecutive year that the industry saw fewer injuries than the previous year.

The Safety Excellence Program was created in 1987 to promote safe working conditions and practices and to recognize, on an annual basis, individual operations with exemplary safety records among NSSGA member companies. The awards recognize individual operations that have gone the longest duration without a reportable injury in their size category, based on data provided by the U.S. Mine Safety and Health Administration.

Safety Excellence Gold Award Recipients

Tilcon Connecticut Inc., Southington Sand and PitOldcastle, Inc.SmallNew Britain, Conn.
Abilene Blacklease QuarryVulcan Materials CompanyMediumVestavia, Ala.
Dalton QuarryVulcan Materials CompanyLargeJacksonville, Fla.

The Sterling Safety Award was created in 1994 to recognize the companies that have the lowest total accident incidence rate for the previous year (2016) in their category among NSSGA members. Data on which the award is based is provided by MSHA.

Sterling Safety Gold Award Recipients

Iddings Quarry, Inc.SmallMifflinburg, Pa.
Wiregrass Construction Company, Inc.MediumDothan, Ala.
Specialty Granules Inc.LargeHagerstown, Md.
The Gold Awards for Community Relations, Safety Excellence and Sterling Safety will be presented at NSSGA’s 2017 Annual Convention in Las Vegas, March 3-7. Register today for the 2017 Annual Convention.

NSSGA’s annual awards program recognizes aggregates operations throughout the United States for their remarkable commitment to safety, their continuous performance of safe environmental practices and for their efforts and activities that have enhanced the image of the industry. The Environmental Excellence Awards and Grassroots Awards will be presented at the association’s new Legislative and Policy Forum/Fall Board Meeting later this year. A full list of Gold, Silver and Bronze award recipients can be found here.

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies to ensure the best possible use of our site, for web analytics and to provide you with content tailored to your interests. We sometimes share cookie data with third parties. Find out more in our Cookie Policy.