Nominate Safety & Health Leaders for Awards

Mark Rock, senior vice president of risk management for CalPortland, received the 2017 James M. Christie Safety & Health Professional of the Year Award, based on a career of advancing a culture of safety and health.

If you know of a great leader who is committed to safe and healthy practices please click here or email VP of Safety Policy, Joe Casper, at, to nominate them. All applications for the James M. Christie award must be received by Wednesday Aug. 1, 2018.

Rock was recognized for establishing a sophisticated program for managing compliance and worker safety and health at CalPortland. He pushed for a shift in the company’s emphasis from simply reporting injuries to a more thorough effort aimed at avoiding accidents. A rigorous auditing program was critical to this shift in addition to creating safety training for specific pieces of equipment.

The James M. Christie Safety and Health Professional of the Year award was created in 1987 by the National Stone Association (NSA) in recognition of the then-corporate safety director for Vulcan Materials Co. In the early 1980s, Christie challenged a young MSHA agency to focus regulations on the safety practices of manager and worker behavior and not strictly on a facility’s conditions. NSSGA regularly recognizes individuals for substantial commitment and contributions to safe and healthy practices within his or her company – and the industry – with the Christie award.

When nominating someone for this award, please describe, among other things, the person’s demonstrated leadership in safety and health within his or her company. Applicants can also highlight the nominee’s professional contributions to advance safety and health within the industry and participation in NSSGA safety and health activities.



For more information on all of NSSGA’s awards please visit

One Response

Stay in touch with the conversation, subscribe to the RSS feed for comments on this post.

Continuing the Discussion

  1. NSSGA opens nominations for Safety & Health Professional of the Year – Raleigh Asphalt Paving, Milling, & Concrete

    […] Source […]

    June 27, 20188:17 am

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies to ensure the best possible use of our site, for web analytics and to provide you with content tailored to your interests. We sometimes share cookie data with third parties. Find out more in our Cookie Policy.