Mark S. Walsh Annual Leadership Award

Mark S. Walsh was comptroller of National Stone Association producer member Rein, Shultz and Dahl of Illinois and an active member of the Young Leaders (YL) Steering Committee. He was an energetic and enthusiastic supporter of the mission, purpose and activities of YL. In the two years that Mark served on the Steering Committee, he offered sage advice and unique insights on exactly what the focus and purpose of the YL should be for new young executives in the aggregates industry, like himself. Mark passed away from leukemia in 1999 at 37 years old. 

In memory of Mark’s leadership and commitment to the Young Leaders, YL initiated the Mark S. Walsh Annual Leadership Award to be given to the one individual that, according to the award: 

“exemplifies the leadership traits of professionalism, enthusiasm and commitment and whose efforts in improving and developing the image and programs of the Young Leaders are in keeping with the example set forth by the honoree of this award.” 

In our industry, we make our mark through the quality of our work, the honesty of our actions, and the integrity of our word. Mark S. Walsh led his personal and professional life by these ideals. Each year, this award is given to an aggregates industry member who embodies these qualities through their career and involvement with YL. 

To nominate a peer for the 2021 Mark S. Walsh Award, please fill out the form below and submit it by April 5, 2021:

2021 Mark S. Walsh Award Nomination Form

Previous Mark S. Walsh Award Recipients 

1999 – Tom Vierheller, Maryland  
2001 – Graham Hardwick, CSR America, Inc.  
2002 – William Sandbrook, Oldcastle Materials  
2003 – Paul C. Mellott, Jr., H.B. Mellott Estate  
2005 – Robert Bartlett, Former NSA President 
2007 – Richard Blake, Metso Minerals  
2008 – Charles Luck IV, Luck Stone Corporation 
2009 – Henry “Ric” Suzio, York Hill Trap Rock Quarry Company 
2010 – Rodney Marchand, ORICA USA Inc. 
2011 – Sean McLanahanMcLanahan Corporation 
2012 – Thomas Herschbach, Teichert Aggregates 
2013 – Chris Upp, Conco Quarries, Inc. 
2014 – Matt Stoneburner, Emerson Industrial Automation  
2015 – Dennis Coker, Natural Resource Partners L.P. 
2016 –  Rod Martin, Martin Stone Quarries, Inc. 
2017 – Joel Galassini, CEMEX 
2018 – Josh Swank, Philippi-Hagenbuch 
2019 – Brian Mahavier, U.S. Concrete 
2020 – Not awarded due to pandemic 

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies to ensure the best possible use of our site, for web analytics and to provide you with content tailored to your interests. We sometimes share cookie data with third parties. Find out more in our Cookie Policy.