Safety Excellence Awards

The Safety Excellence Awards, originated in 1987, are presented based on the ability of an individual aggregates operation to maintain a safe workplace, evidenced by its safety performance over a consecutive period of time without an MSHA reportable injury. NSSGA’s safety awards recognize individual operations as well as companies. The safety award categories are based on reported work hours and are grouped accordingly:

  • Large: Greater than 55,000 work-hours
  • Medium: Greater than 25,000, but less than 55,000 work-hours
  • Small: Up to 25,000 work-hours

2018 Award Winners

Safety Excellence Award Winners

The Safety Excellence Program was created in 1987 to promote safe working conditions and practices and to recognize, on an annual basis, individual operations with exemplary safety records among NSSGA member companies. Safety Excellence Awards recognize individual operations that have gone the longest duration without a reportable injury in their size category. Data on which the award is based is provided by MSHA.

OperationParent CompanyAwardCategoryCity, State
Helotes QuarryMartin MariettaSafety Excellence GoldSmallSan Antonio, Texas
Benson Quarry Martin MariettaSafety Excellence GoldMediumGreensboro, N.C.
Corona StoneVulcan Construction Materials, LLCSafety Excellence GoldLargeGlendale, Calif.
Junction City QuarryMartin MariettaSafety Excellence SilverLargeJunction City, Ga.
Charlotte QuarryMartin MariettaSafety Excellence BronzeLargeCharlotte, N.C.
Danley QuarryVulcan Construction Materials, LLCSafety Excellence SilverMediumAntioch, Tenn.
San Pedro QuarryMartin MariettaSafety Excellence BronzeMediumSan Antonio, Texas
Norton QuarryVulcan Construction Materials, LLCSafety Excellence SilverSmallBig Stone Gap, Va.
Cedarville QuarryMartin MariettaSafety Excellence BronzeSmallCedarville, Ohio

Sterling Safety Award Winners

The Sterling Safety Award was created in 1994 to recognize the companies that have the lowest total accident incidence rate for the previous year in their category among NSSGA members. Sterling Awards recognize member companies that achieve the lowest injury incidence rate for the previous calendar year (2018) in their size category. Data on which the award is based is provided by MSHA.

Company Name
AwardCategory SizeCity, State
Rogers Group, Inc.Sterling Safety SilverLargeConway, Ark.
Martin MariettaSterling Safety BronzeLargeRaleigh, N.C.
US AggregatesSterling Safety SilverMediumIndianapolis, Ind.
Chantilly Crushed Stone, Inc.Sterling Safety BronzeMediumChantilly, Va.
Jeffres Sand & Gravel, Inc.Sterling Safety SilverSmallBurwell, Neb.
Caldwell Stone Company, Inc.Sterling Safety BronzeSmallDanville, Ky.
DeSiato Sand & Gravel CorporationSterling Safety GoldSmallMansfield, Conn.
Martin Stone QuarriesSterling Safety GoldMedium Bechtelsville, Pa.
Vulcan Materials CompanySterling Safety GoldLargeBirmingham, Ala.


By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies to ensure the best possible use of our site, for web analytics and to provide you with content tailored to your interests. We sometimes share cookie data with third parties. Find out more in our Cookie Policy.