Awards and Recognition

Applications are now available online for the 2021 Awards of Excellence and Certificates. Early bird pricing for applications is available until March 19 and the final deadline to submit applications is April 23. To get started with your application today, click here and proceed to login with your NSSGA member information.

Environmental Awards

The Environmental Excellence Award provides national recognition for operations who actively demonstrate a commitment to the exemplary use of environmental controls and systems. The Environmental Leadership award recognizes an individual for outstanding commitment to environmental practices.

Community Relations Awards

Community Relations Excellence Awards recognize producers whose community involvement and support activities enhance the public’s perception of the aggregates industry and the individual producer’s operation.

Safety and Health Awards

The Safety Excellence Awards recognize operations that maintain a safe workplace, evidenced by its safety performance over a consecutive period of time without an MSHA-reportable injury.

National Stars of Excellence

The National Stars of Excellence award is presented to an operation with multiple Gold Awards in Safety, Community Relations or Envionmental Excellence within five years.

Barry K. Wendt Commitment Award

In February of 1997, the aggregates industry lost a longtime friend with the passing of Barry K. Wendt of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Known for his outgoing, friendly disposition and spirited nature, he was a great friend and champion to the industry. He often gave of his own personal time to solve industry problems. Barry tirelessly…

Previous Gold Winners (2016-2020)

For the Community Relations and Environmental categories, NSSGA recognizes facilities that receive the Gold category designation for a period of five (5) years from the time the facility first receives the Gold designation. After five years, the facility is eligible to reapply for award recognition. Below are the Gold recipients from 2016-2020.

If you need any assistance with awards or would like more information, please contact Kerry Lynch at

By continuing your visit to this site, you accept the use of cookies and other technologies to ensure the best possible use of our site, for web analytics and to provide you with content tailored to your interests. We sometimes share cookie data with third parties. Find out more in our Cookie Policy.